Monocle 24: The Monocle Arts Review

Monocle

Weekly cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. Enjoy conversations with the directors, artists, authors and musicians and minds behind it all.

Location:

United States

Networks:

Monocle

Description:

Weekly cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. Enjoy conversations with the directors, artists, authors and musicians and minds behind it all.

Language:

English


Episodes

Sunday Brunch’s new home

7/29/2018
‘Sunday Brunch’ has moved. To continue getting your weekly cultural feast, search for the show on the Monocle website, or via your favourite podcast provider, and subscribe for free.

Duration:00:01:34

Sunday Brunch: Art of the heart and mind

4/8/2018
Get under the skin of art as we look at artists’ personalities, get a glimpse into Picasso’s personal life and reflect on the heart through art. Plus: we discuss Estonian literature and try some Indian cuisine.

The grand finale

3/23/2018
In the last ever episode of the ‘Monocle Arts Review’, Robert Bound is joined by writer Lucy Jones and Toby Earle, TV editor for ‘The Evening Standard’ and London Live, to discuss some of the latest films and series to hit streaming services. Plus we meet multi-Grammy award-winning singer-songwriter Rickie Lee Jones.

Duration:00:45:00

Films on-screen and art to be seen

3/16/2018
Film critic Jason Solomons reviews this week’s film releases and Jane Morris, editor at large of the ‘Art Newspaper’, talks London art exhibitions with Monocle’s Ben Rylan. Plus: we meet artist Celia Hempton in Rome.

Duration:00:45:00

From the stage to the bookshelf

3/9/2018
We get to grips with this week’s theatre openings in London with the critic Matt Wolf and leaf through some new book releases with John Mitchinson, publisher at Unbound. Plus: we visit an exhibition in Dublin that examines our relationship with authenticity and all things fake. Andrew Mueller presents.

Duration:00:43:19

Sunday Brunch: Invisible cities

3/4/2018
We explore concepts of the ideal city with former Tate curator Flavia Frigeri. We visit a royal art collection. Damien Rudd tells us about the saddest place names in the world, and we try some Hong Kong brunch. Plus: Cornelia Meyer reads the weekend papers.

Film: from the Berlinale to the Oscars

3/2/2018
Film critics Tim Robey and Jason Solomons recap their highlights from this year’s Berlin Film Festival and predict what they think might happen at this weekend’s Oscars. Plus we review ‘A Fantastic Woman’ and ‘Red Sparrow’, and learn about the history of cross-dressing in a new exhibition in London.

Duration:00:45:00

Sight and sound

2/23/2018
Journalists Alice Vincent and Laura Snapes join Robert Bound to discuss the albums, films and TV shows that have piqued their interest this week. Plus, we meet renowned author Dave Eggers.

Duration:00:45:00

Screen and stage

2/16/2018
We review the week in cinema and London’s West End and chat with Daniel Spicer, author of a new book about Turkish psychedelic music.

Duration:00:45:00

Page-turners, podcasts and pop

2/9/2018
Ted Hodgkinson, senior programmer for literature and spoken word at the Southbank Centre, and Fiona Sturges, critic for ‘The Guardian’, join Matt Alagiah to discuss what they’ve been reading and listening to. Plus we learn about the Italian music festival that inspired Eurovision.

Duration:00:42:20

Having a ball

2/2/2018
We take a trip around Europe to discover some of the best exhibitions in Barcelona, Vienna and Milan this month with Ossian Ward, head of content at the Lisson gallery, and writer and curator Francesca Gavin. Plus: we don our gladrags and head to Austria for Vienna’s ball season.

Duration:00:45:00

Sunday Brunch: documenting a war

1/28/2018
We find out about Peter Jackson’s new film documenting the First World War, head to London’s Tate Gallery to celebrate the pioneers of installation art and talk to John Wood about his decision to leave Microsoft to change the world. Plus we try vegan junk food and Rachel Cunliffe on the weekend papers.

Oscars fever

1/26/2018
With the nominees for the 90th Academy Awards announced this week, Ben Rylan and film critics Anna Smith and Tim Robey discuss their hopes for this year’s prizes. Plus: we find out how to show your film at Sundance without being officially selected and discover a brand new Vincent Van Gogh drawing in the Netherlands.

Duration:00:45:00

Read all about it

1/19/2018
We discuss some of the week’s book releases with literary journalist Sarah Shaffi and Unbound founder John Mitchinson, and nip to São Paulo to discover the kiosk-cum-independent bookshop that has transformed its neighbourhood.

Duration:00:42:00

Three billboards, two albums and a number one

1/12/2018
Robert Bound talks film and music with film critic Karen Krizanovich and broadcaster Baylen Leonard. Plus: we discuss the merits of a short story and head to Kenya for the global countdown.

Duration:00:45:30

New year, new TV

1/5/2018
Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for ‘The Telegraph’ and Toby Earle, TV critic for ‘London Live’ and ‘The Evening Standard’, join Ben Rylan in the studio to discuss some of the UK shows hitting the small screen this month. Plus: podcast and radio critic Pete Naughton gives us his 2018 listening tips and we head to Latin America for this week’s Global Countdown.

Duration:00:42:54

2017 in books, music and film

12/29/2017
Robert Bound is joined by broadcaster and DJ Georgie Rogers, publisher at Unbound John Mitchinson and film critic for ‘The Telegraph’ Tim Robey, who pick their 2017 highlights in music, literature and film.

Duration:00:45:00

Festive films

12/22/2017
Film critics Jason Solomons and Anna Smith join Ben Rylan in the studio to discuss the films out this December and some of their festive favourites.

Duration:00:40:43

Bingo!

12/15/2017
We review art shows and new book releases with writer and curator Francesca Gavin and Ted Hodgkinson, senior programmer for literature and spoken word at the Southbank Centre. Plus: we meet Daniel Rezende, the Brazilian director of new film ‘Bingo’.

Duration:00:41:33

Top TV

12/8/2017
We discuss this month’s TV with Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for ‘The Telegraph’ and discover what people around the world will be watching this Christmas. Plus theatre critic Matt Wolf gives us his take on some of London’s current shows on stage.

Duration:00:38:26